National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang

နာဂအမျိုးသား ဆိုရှယ်လစ် ကောင်စီ (ကပ်ပလန်)




Founded: January 1, 1980

Headquarters: Unknown

Operational Area: Lahe, Lay Shi, Hkamti and Nanyun in Sagaing Region

Estimated strength: <500

Leader: S. S. Khaplang

The NSCN-K has been fighting to to achieve a union between Naga living in the northeast states of India and the Sagaing Region in Myanmar. In 1988, the NSCN split into two fractions; the NSCN-K led by S. S. Khaplang based in northern Lahe and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region, Myanmar and the NSCN-IM, led by Isak Chisi Swu and Thuingaleng Muivah in India. According to the 2008 Constitution, the Leshi, Lahe and Nanyun townships in Sagaing Region are described as a Naga Self-Administered Zone. Since 2010, the NSCN-K and the Myanmar government have not engaged in armed clashes. After the ceasefire in 2012, many of their soldiers deserted.

CEC members:
Chairman: S. S. Khaplang
General Secretary: Dali Mangru Ao
Commander-in-Chief: Khole Konyak

CEC member:
1. U Kyaw Wan Sein


Peace Process

New Ceasefire: April 9, 2012

12th resistance group to sign ceasefire with the new government

Stage 1: State level peace talks

Official delegation team


Liaison offices

Khamti, Sagaing Region

------- information from -------

More in this category: ABSDF »