Karen National Union

ကရင် အမျိုးသား အစည်းအရုံး

Government name: Kayin National Union (KNU)

Armed wing: Karen National Liberation Army (KNLA)

knu flag 01  knu flag 02knu logo 01


ethnic armed org logo NCCT member



knu logo


Founded: 1947

Headquarters: Mobile HQ

Operational Area: Than Taung, Taungoo, Nyaung Lay Bin, Hlaing Bwe, Hpa-an, Hpa-pun, Kawkareik, Kyar-Inn Seik Gyi, Kyeik-don, Northern part of Tanintharyi region

Estimated strength: 5,000+

Leader:Gen. Saw Mutu Say Poe

The KNU has been fighting for determination and autonomy in one of the world’s longest civil wars. Following Myanmar's independence from the British in 1948, the Karen National Defence Organization (KNDO) was formed to fight against the central government. This name was later changed to the KNU.

CEC members:

  • Chairperson: Gen. Saw Mutu Say Poe
  • Vice-Chairperson: Naw Zipporah Sein
  • General Secretary: Padoh Saw Kwe Htoo Win
  • Secretary-1: Padoh Saw Thawthi Bwe
  • Secretary-2: Padoh Mahn Mahn Mahn
  • Defence department: Maj. Saw Roger Khin
  • Commander-in-chief: Gen. Saw Johnny
  • Deputy Commander-in-chief: Gen. Baw Kyaw Hah


  • Padoh Saw Thamein Tun, CEC Member
  • Padoh Mahn Nyein Maung, CEC Member
  • Padoh Ta Doh Moo, CEC Member

Department heads:

  • Padoh Mahn Ba Tun, Forestry Department
  • Padoh Kawkasar Saw Nay Soe, Transportation Department
  • Padoh Saw Eh K'lu Shwe Oo, Health and Welfare Department
  • Padoh Saw Hla Tun, Organizing and Information Department
  • Padoh Saw Lah Say, Education and Cultural Department
  • Padoh Saw Mya Maung, Breeding and Watery Department
  • Padoh Saw Roger Khin, Defense Department
  • Padoh Saw Kae Le, Mining Department
  • Padoh Saw Eh K'lu Say, Justice Department
  • Padoh Saw David Thakabaw, Alliance Affairs Department
  • Padoh Saw Aung Win Shwe, Foreign Affairs Department
  • Padoh Saw Ah Toe, Interior and Religion Department
  • Padoh Saw Khay Hsur, Finance Department
  • Padoh Saw Dot Lay Mu, Agriculture Department
  • Padoh Saw Dot Lay Mu, Chief Judge

Karen Peace Support Team

April 8, 2012
Address: No.410, 3rd Street (South), East Gyo Gone, Insein Township, Yangon, Myanmar.
Telephone Number: +0095-9-8575 225

Contact Persons:

  1. Rev. Mathew Aye, coordinator of Karen Peace Support Team
  2. Susanna Hla Hla Soe, Co- Coordinator of Karen Peace Support Team

Full details see a statement document

KPST’s Role in Peace Negotiation

  1. organizing media (domestic and international)
  2. observers
  3. facilitating meetings
  4. community participation


  1. Honorary Moderator: Prof. Saw Tun Aung Chain-Individual
  2. Coordinator: Rev. Matthew Aye- Karen Development Network
  3. Co-coordinator: Nant Khin Aye Oo (Cum treasurer) - Karen Development Committee
  4. Co-coordinator: Naw Susanna Hla Hla Soe - Karen Women’s Action Group
  5. Member: Saw True Blood - Individual
  6. Member: Saw Kenneth Wai Thaw - Individual
  7. Member: Saw Alan Saw U - Individual
  8. Member: Mahn Kyaw Nyunt - Individual
  9. Member: Saw Kyaw Swar - Karen Affairs Committee
  10. Member: Nan Myint Tin - Karen Affairs Committee
  11. Information Disseminator: Nyaw Nyaw (secretarial support) - Individual

Peace Process

New Ceasefire: Jan.12, 2012

6th resistance group to sign ceasefire with the new government

Stage 2: Union level peace talks

Official delegation team

Union level peace talks

  • Chairperson: Gen. Mutu Say Poe
  • Vice-Chairperson: Naw Zipporah Sein
  • General Secretary: Padoh Saw Khwe Htoo Win
  • Secretary 1: Padoh Saw Thawthi Bwe
  • Secretary 2: Padoh Mahn Mahn Mahn
  • Commander-in-chief: Bri. Gen. Saw Johnny
  • Defence Dept chief: Maj. Saw Roger Khin

Liaison offices

  1. Kyauk Gyi (09/04/2012)
  2. Tavoy/Dawei (10/04/2012)
  3. Three Pagoda Pass (15/05/2012)
  4. Myawaddy (18/08/2012)
  5. Hpa-an (29/09/2012)
  6. Thaton (05/03/2013)

Economic liaison office

  1. Mawlamyine (22/11/2013)
  2. Hpa-an
  3. Yangon

(Moe Ko San Co.Ltd and Saung See Sar Co.Ltd)

------- information from www.mmpeacemonitor.org -------

More in this category: « RCSS KIO »