Kachin Independence Organization

ကချင်ပြည် လွတ်မြောက်ရေး အဖွဲ့

Armed wing: Kachin Independence Army

Government name: Kachin State Special Region-2

unfcUNFC member ,  ethnic armed org logo NCCT member

Allies Arakan Army, All Burma Students Democratic Front



KIO coat of arms


Founded: Feb.5, 1961
Headquarters: Laiza, Kachin state
Operational Area: 5 brigades across Kachin state and Northern Shan state
Estimated strength: 7,000 to 10,000 (excluding the KIO’s MHH and MKM civilian militia forces)


  • Chairman and President: LanyawZawngHra
  • Vice-President: Lt. Gen. N’Ban La
  • Vice-Chairman: Lt. Gen. Gauri Zau Seng
  • Chief of Staff: Lt. Gen. Gam Shawng
  • Vice Chief of Staff: Maj. Gen. Gun Maw
  • General Secretary: Brig. Dr. La Ja
  • Joint General Secretary: U La Nan

The KIO’s armed wing the Kachin Independence Army (KIA) is the second largest ethnic armed group in Myanmar. The KIO claims to have 10,000 troops with another 10,000 reservists in the civilian population ready to fight. The KIO generates large revenues from its rich natural resources, which has enabled them to create a powerful army and develop trade centers in several cities along the Sino-Myanmar border. e.g. Laiza, Mai Ja Yang

A 17-year ceasefire, which for many years was the only written agreement that the government had with any armed group, ended less than 3 months after the nominally civilian government took power. The contributing factor was the KIO’s refusal to join the government’s BGF scheme. Construction of the Myitsone dam - the water reservoir would of flooded large tracts of land in KIO-controlled territories - was also a major source of tension. Although the Myanmar state media started started referring to the KIO as an illegal organization from 2009- 2010, the ceasefire didn’t unravel until government troops attacked the KIO’s Sang Gang outpost on June 9, 2011.

CEC members:

  • Chairman of KIO and Prisident of Kachin Independence Council (KIC): Lanyaw Zawng Hra
  • Vice-Prisident 1: Lt. Gen. N’Ban La
  • Vice-Chairman 2: Lt. Gen. Gauri Zau Seng
  • Vice-Prisident 2: Lt. Gen. Gam Shawng (CS)
  • General Secretary: Brig. Gen. Dr. La Ja
  • Joint General Secretary: La Nan
  • Chief of Staff: Lt. Gen. Gam Shawng
  • Vice Chief of Staff: Maj. Gen. Gun Maw

Peace Process

Preliminary Peace Talks


# clashes since June 9, 2011: unknown

Previous ceasefire: Feb 24, 1994

Official delegation team


Liaison offices

Previously: 22 liaison offices in Kachin and Shan states under the 1994: Myitkyina and Bhamo.
All Liaison offices were ordered to close in November 2010

KIO's technical advisory team office is also running as a liaison office.

KIO Justice and Negotiation center

Located: Prang Ngawn village, Loijay Township, Kachin State, Myanmar

KIO's Technical Advisory Team

Located: No. NR/114, Shatapru ward, Myitkyina Township, Kachin State on July 2013

KIO member:

  1. Gawlu La Awng (deputy director of foreign Relations department)
  2. Col. Phongan KhunNawng
  3. Col. Sin Wah
  4. Sara Dau Hka


  1. Saranum Lu Nan
  2. Sara Brang Mai
  3. Min Zai Dau Lum
  4. Sara La Yeik

Peace Creation Group

Website: http://peace-talkcreationgroup.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeaceTalkCreationGroup
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Peace-talk Creation Group is made up of Kachin businessmen who have been assisting peace talks between the KIO and government. They have been mediating with both sides for scheduling and other arrangements. They also sometimes provide financial assistance for meetings.

Membership includes:

  • Yup Zaw Hkaung of Jadeland company
  • Lamai Gum Ja
  • Hkapra KhunAwng
  • Nshan San Awng.

The group also has a 7-member official documentation team.



------- information from www.mmpeacemonitor.org -------

More in this category: « KNU